There has been a house on the site since the
15th century. Originally called 'Almonds Farm' and later 'Morhanger
Lodge' or 'Muggerhanger Lodge', the early building consisted of a
double fronted villa about the size of a mid-eighteenth century
From 1777 to 1857 Moggerhanger was owned by
the Thornton family and in 1784 described as: 'A neat convenient
Dwelling-House, fitted up in a genteel stile, provided with useful
Offices, Coach houses and Stabling, Shrubbery, and Kitchen Garden,
on a delightful Eminence, commanding rich views for a vast
The first phase of restoration work involved
the replacement of the roof, which had badly leaked with consequent
damage to the internal fabric of the building. At about this time,
the Trust obtained a £1.2 million grant from the Landfill Tax in
order to buy back the walled gardens and woods, which formed part
of the original estate, and in 1998, they obtained a £3.3 million
grant from the Heritage Lottery Fund to restore the house and
grounds. This grant enabled the next phase of work to begin: the
re-rendering of the external walls and this was completed in
2000.The final - and most complicated phase in the House
restoration - started in August 2002. This work saw the restoration
of the interior of the building, and grew in complexity (and cost!)
as it developed, mainly due to the fact that a number of
fascinating historical discoveries were made during the restoration
work. The house finally opened to the public in May 2005.
· Putting up rabbit
fencing in various parts of the park to protect plants from rabbit
· Soil preparation
in the Filbert Walk border and then covering with matting.
strimming and clearing of overgrown areas.
· Potential sensory
garden to be built in walled garden.
· Path building and
· Assisting with
inputting drainage systems around the site
together and replacing benches around the site
Enjoy & achieve, Making a positive contribution, and being
healthy, Staying safe.