Welcome to Bedford Borough Council

Our Services A - Z :

You are here: Home Page > Council and Democracy > Elections

Elections 2015

On the 7th May this year, Bedford Borough will be a very special place to be! 


We'll have up to five different elections taking place - which means more ballot papers than anywhere else in the country.  

Elections being held are:

  1. UK Parliament
  2. Borough Councillors
  3. Mayor of Bedford
  4. All 46 Parish Councils 
  5. A referendum on an increase in the Police's share of Council Tax, proposed by Bedfordshire's Police and Crime Commissioner. 


You should have already received your poll card, but if you haven't it's important to act quickly and let us know either by telephone or email.

 Tel: 01234 276914

 E-mail: electoral.registration@bedford.gov.uk  


If you applied to vote by post, we should have received your postal vote application form by Tuesday 21 April at 5:00pm.



Polling Day: 7th May 2015!

Polling Stations will open at 7AM and close at 10PM


Please click here to view the election timetable (links to various websites and useful documents are also available on this page).


To find out which constituency you are in please click here and use the table at the bottom of the page.


To find your local Polling Station using your address, please use this app.


Parliamentary Elections

(White ballot paper)

Vote for ONLY ONE CANDIDATE by putting a cross [X] in the box next to your choice.


The Bedford Borough area is divided into three parliamentary constituencies; Bedford, North East Bedfordshire and Mid Bedfordshire with Bedford Borough responsible for administering the elections for the Bedford and North East Bedfordshire Constituencies.


Citizens of the European Union (with the exception of Cyprus, Malta and the Republic of Ireland) are not eligible to vote in the UK Parliamentary elections, but can vote in the local elections below.


Borough Council Elections

(Green ballot paper)

Bedford Borough Council has 40 elected Borough Councillors each representing 1 of 27 Wards within the Bedford Borough Area.  Electors vote for the candidates who are standing for the Ward where they are registered to vote. Details of the Wards and the elections of Councillors is available at www.bedford.gov.uk/elections2015.


Instructions will be provided in the polling station but for Wards with only one Councillor vote ONLY ONCE by putting a cross [X] in the box next to your choice. For Wards with two Councillor’s vote for NO MORE THAN TWO CANDIDATES by putting a cross [X] in the box next to EACH of your choices.


Local Mayoral Election

(Salmon ballot paper)

Mayoral elections in the UK use the Supplementary Vote (SV) system.  Under SV, voters select their first and second choices from the list of candidates. Vote by putting a cross [X] in the box in column 1 next to your FIRST CHOICE candidate and in column 2 next to your SECOND CHOICE candidate.

Your first and second choices should be different. Further details are provided in the mayoral booklet which is being issued to everyone entitled to vote.

Bedford Borough Council is one of only 16 Councils in the country to have a Directly Elected Mayor.


Parish Council Elections

(Lilac ballot paper)

Parish Council elections are held every 4 years, and coincide with both the Mayoral and Borough Council Elections.  Parish Councils primarily comprise of the villages in the area, but can also be large areas such as Brickhill or Kempston Town. Elections will also take place to the newly formed Wixams Parish Council.


Where there is a Parish Council election ballot papers will explain how many candidates you can vote for. Vote by putting a cross [X] in the box next to EACH of your choices.


Referendum On Council Tax Increase For Bedfordshire Police And Crime Commissioner

(Yellow ballot paper)

The Bedfordshire Police and Crime Commissioner has put forward proposals for 15.8% increase in the element of the Council Tax charged for the Police to provide additional policing in the County. There will therefore be a referendum across Bedfordshire on 7 May asking people if they support the Police and Crime Commissioner’s proposed increase in Council Tax.

Vote ONLY ONCE by putting a cross [X] in the box next to your choice.


Voters are advised not to put any other mark on the ballot paper or your vote might not count!!



Results of the elections will be announced from Friday 8 May in the morning to Monday 11 May in the morning with details published on our website



If you have any questions concerning the elections, please contact the Electoral Registration Team using the details below:


Democratic and Registration Services Group

Borough Hall
Cauldwell Street
MK42 9AP


 Tel: 01234 276914

 E-mail: electoral.registration@bedford.gov.uk

Don't Miss

Borough Hall Exterior

This website provides information on the services delivered by Bedford Borough Council.


Stay Connected
Sign up for email alerts!